The Temple's last mission


At the crack of dawn on Friday October 13, 1307, the king's troops, led by Guillaume de Nogaret, invest the Temple of Paris. All Templars present are put under arrest. The same day, in all the Temple'scommanderies of the kingdom of France, the same scene is repeated.

In Paris, 138 Templar knights are arrested. Amongst them, the Grand Master, Jacques de Molay (1292-1314) and a few dignitaries of the order attending him. The Templars don't offer any resistance to the King's men but Guillaume de Nogaret is disappointed: the Temple's enclosure is empty, the treasure is gone, and most of the Templars present are only sergeants or tradespeople. Only a handful of dignitaries are present during the arrest, standing for their order.

Obviously the knights have been warned about the upcoming raid against them. For Nogaret, the person responsible for the leak can only be his predecessor, the Archbishop of Narbonne, Gilles Aycelin. Indeed, Gilles Aycelin had strongly objected when Philippe The Fair (king of France from 1285 to 1314) had informed him on September 22, 1307, in the abbey of Maubuisson, of his intention of arresting all the Templars. Gilles, in his official capacity as Chancellor and Keeper of the Seal, had argued that the judicial proceedings were unlawful. Facing the king's unyielding determination, Gilles Aycelin had resigned his office.


the arrest of the Templars, miniature in Chroniques de France; XIV th century; British Library; London


The Grand Master of the Templars probably knew about the king's plans very quickly, maybe as early as September 22 and so made the necessary arrangements. Crates containing the Templars' treasure were loaded onto a dozen horses and taken away to a safe place by Gerard de Villiers, the new Visitor of the Order, escorted by forty knights in arms.

As the news broke, there was a commotion within the Temple's enclosure: the knights knew about the king of France's intention to arrest them but they didn't know when they would be taken into custody, and everybody tried to put their belongings under cover before the arrest which could occur at any time.

Hugues de Pairaud, Master of the Province of France, chose to entrust his treasure to Pierre Gaudès, Commander of the houses of Dormelles and Biauvoir, near Morêt en Gâtinois. Pierre Gaudès fled form the Temple with the safe, then handed it over to a fisherman in Moret-sur-Loing. The fisherman hid the safe under his bed. When the Templars were arrested, he brought the chest to the king's bailiff and the 1189 gold coins and 5010 silver coins in the chest were nimbly forwarded to the king's treasury.


Sainte-Marie-du-Temple Chrurch in Paris; meeting place of the Chapter of the Province of France; engraving of Israel Sylvestre


Preferring to distance themselves from the king of France, the dignitaries of the Temple and the Grand Master Jacques de Molay had settled in Poitiers, close to the papal court. In early October, Jacques de Molay went back to Paris for the funeral of Catherine de Courtenay who was the wife of Charles de Valois, the king of France's brother. Riding back to the Temple's enclosure, the Grand Master and the few dignitaries coming with him could legitimately worry about the fate awaiting them: as they attended Catherine de Courtenay's funeral on the 12th October, they had the irrepressible feeling it was their own burial they were going to. Jacques de Molay, aware that once the Holy Land had been lost the times had become unfavorable to the Templars mission, wanted to face his destiny and stay faithful to his commitment. He was burned alive at the stake in Paris on March 18, 1314, his eyes turned towards Notre-Dame.

When made prisoner, Jacques de Molay didn't deny or contradict the charges leveled against him by the Inquisition serving the royal justice. It is possible that Pope Clement V (1305-1314) had convinced him to waive the defense of his order for the sake of the Church. The pope, seeing how aggressive the king of France had already been towards the Holy See, must have believed this strategy was the best way toprotect what was most important to him.

What was most important to Clement V, was the independence of the Roman church, gained at great cost during the last centuries from the feudal law. It was also important for him to preserve the interests of the Papal States established in the kingdom of France; namely the Venaissin County where the pope would find refuge when, after residing in Poitiers, he would settle the papacy durably in Avignon.

But by letting the king of France discredit an institution such as the order of the Templars, Clement V sullied the Benedictine tradition, and in particular the Strict Observance from which the Templars order came. Indeed it was Saint Bernard of Clairvaux, cistercian abbot of the Claire Vallée, emblematic figure of Christianity and of monasticism of the Strict Observance, who had been chosen by the Troyes council in 1129 to be the spiritual father of the Templars and to supervise the writing of their Rule.


seal of saint Bernard, abbot of Clairvaux, 'la Claire Vallée'


Without even being aware of the consequences of his acts, Clement V was causing Christianity to regress , back to the limits of the barbaric times when the pope Etienne II (752-757) had knelt down before Pepin the Short (715-768), granting the imperial title and papal support to the frank dynasty in exchange of a few Papal States in Italy.

When in 1304, at a time when the King of France was still full of praise for the Templars, they rejected his request to join in the order, and when, in 1306 Jacques de Molay refused the pope's suggestion to merge with the Hospitallers, the Templar knights acted as they did because they believed they were the guardians of a world, the world of the Benedictine Strict Observance which had inspired the institutions of the first Latin States of Jerusalem. As the Grand Master wrote in his dissertation for Clement V on the merger of the orders, the Templars considered themselves the “vanguard of Christianity”.

When the Templar knights understood that everything was over and that they would witness the end of their religion, their first concern was to preserve the future. They had first of all to protect their treasure, which resulted from their undertaking in the Holy Land. This act of preservation was not meant to shield their wealth from the greed of powerful people who were always in need of funds, but rather to reserve a legacy for future generations. Through their treasure, the Templars set a date for us with our history.


The Crown of the Three Magi


In 1372, a time when Pope Gregory XI (1370-1378) was seeking to revive the project of a crusade, a Carmelite friar, John of Hildesheim, prior of the convent Marienau, revealed some information about the treasure of the Templars and particularly about a key piece of this treasure. It was a crown of gold adorned with gems of inestimable value. The crown was surmounted by Chaldean letters and a cross. According to the description given by the prior of Marienau, it was very similar to the Ottonian crowns of the Holy Roman Empire.


German Imperial crown belonging to Conrad II; in: Encyclopédie des Arts; éditions de l'Illustration; 1960


John of Hildesheim also said that this gem was brought to Saint-Jean d'Acre in 1200 by the noble princes of 'Vaux'. Behaving like the Magi Kings, the nobles of Vaux deposited the crown with the Templar knights in the Holy Land. The Carmelite prior added that the nobles of Vaux also brought books on the Magi Kings and that they bore on their banner the Cross of the Temple and the Star of the Magi.


coat of arms of Raymond II de Baux; buried at the Templar commanderie of Bayle; in: Les Sites Templiers de France; éditions Ouest-France; 1997


Marianne Elissagaray, who published in 1965 the Historia Trium Regum of John of Hildesheim, easily identified these magi kings with the House of Baux de Provence. The lords of Baux claimed they were descended from the Magus Balthazar. Their coat of arms has a star of 16 silver rays in honor of the Three Magi. Their motto was “Al'azardBeautezar.”

Coat of arms of the House of Baux


As for the books the Baux are said to have brought with them, they lead us directly to a literary tradition: the vaticinations, the writing of prophecies. The best known of these literary traditions in the Benedictine world of the Middle Ages was the millenarian tradition relating the end of times which was to happen in the Valley of Jehoshaphat in Jerusalem - place where they located the tomb of the Virgin Mary. The millenarian theories directly influenced the spirit of the knights of the First Crusade. When Godfrey de Bouillon (1099-1100) was appointed at the head of the new states of the Holy Land, he founded a monastery in the honor of the Virgin Mary in the Valley of Jehoshaphat and entrusted it to Benedictine monks. When the order of the Poor Knights of Christ Temple of Solomon was created in Jerusalem in 1119, the Templars became the protectors of the Valley of Jehoshaphat.

The Latin stories about the end of times are based primarily on a text of Syrian origin dating from the late seventh century and attributed to the Bishop Method. This story inspired a large body of prophetic literature, the most famous in the Middle Ages being Nativitate and obitu Antichrist written around 954 by a Benedictine monk named Adso of Moutier-en-Der. There was also The oracle of the Sibyl Tiburtina, composed in southern Italy in the mid-eleventh century. All these writings tell pretty much the same story: the coming of the King of the Last Days who will unify the Western world and will go to Jerusalem. There on the Mount of Olives, he will resign his crown and scepter. Bear in mind that Godfrey of Bouillon refused to wear the crown of Jerusalem where Christ had suffered a martyr, wearing a crown of thorns. The abolition of monarchy was to precede the coming of the Antichrist and his defeat by the Archangel Michael and his celestial legions, announcing Judgment Day.

According to the Benedictine tradition, it is in the Valley of Jehoshaphat, at the foot of Our Lady's tomb, that the Virgin Mary will intercede for her sons on Doomsday and that the proud will be condemned and the humbles consoled. Several monks of the Benedictine Strict Observance took an active interest on these revelations, namely the cistercian monk Otto of Freising (1112-1158), abbot of Morimond and uncle of Emperor Frederick Barbarossa. Otto's main concern was to demonstrate the Germanic character of the King of the Last Days. There was also Joachim of Fiore (1130-1202), abbot of the Cistercian monastery of Corazzo, daughter-abbey of the Claire Vallée. In his Expositio in Apocalipsim Joachim placed the end of time in 1200. But for the Cistercian abbot the end of time was just the beginning of a new era, the era of the Holy Spirit, which for him was the full realization of the Strict Observance Benedictine on a universal scale.

Undoubtedly the prophecies made by the Calabrian abbot were taken very seriously by the mysterious King Magi fraternity Jean of Hildeshem wrote about. The crown brought to the Holy Land was intended for the new Germanic Emperor elected in 1198, Otto IV of Brunswick (1176-1218), who on the day of epiphany 1200 had given three crowns to the cathedral of Cologne where the relics of the King Magi lie. Otto IV appears on the gold reliquary containing the relics of the Magi. He is portrayed behind the three kings, smaller than they are, and without a crown, as a sign of humility. He is also shown hands veiled, carrying offerings, because he is the donor of the gold and the precious stones decorating the reliquary. Otto IV was thus putting his coronation under the protection of the Virgin Mary and under the figure of the Christ on Doomsday, set above, on the upper part of the reliquary.


The shrine of the Three Magi; created around 1181-1230 by Nicholas de Verdun; Cologne cathedral; photo by Beckstet

photo Beckstet

Otto IV of Brunswick-Poitou, grand-son of Eleanor of Aquitaine and Henry Plantagenet II, nephew of the king of England Richard the Lionheart, is also the famous hero celebrated in Parzival written by the German knight Wolfram von Eschenbach . But the requirements of the Benedictine Strict Observance world are demanding, and it is not uncommon in politics that the elected ones end up taking for their own good what they had only been entrusted with. Otto of Brunswick will soon disappoint his protectors, the Templars, and the Magi fraternity will have to find another representative.

In Provence, near the city of Arles, the Magi tradition is still very lively and is as ancient as the one in Cologne or Milan, and older than the one in Florence, where the Magi fraternity met in the private chapel of the Medici during the fifteenth century. The Magi fraternity still scanned the heavens long after the end of the Templars order and the vaticinations never stopped.

The most famous magus in Provence was Michel of Nostredame (1503-1566), author of the Centuries, whose name is made with the names of the two last protagonists on Doomsday in the Valley of Jehoshaphat. Michel of Nostredame was born in Saint-Rémy of Provence at the foot of the fortress of the Lords of Baux of Provence, in the Alpilles. This may just be a coincidence, but if you consider that the Templars hid their treasure in the expectation that the King of The Last Days would come and establish the state of the Strict Observance in Jerusalem, the indications given by Nostradamus in his Centuries concerning the location of the treasure have good reasons to draw our attention:

Beneath the oak tree of Gienne, struck by lightning,

the treasure is hidden not far from there.

That which for many centuries had been gathered (I,27)


We may believe that once the oak tree identified, the long-awaited hero will never have been so close to assuming the crown and to realizing the eschatological hopes of the Templar knights.



The unified space


In De Laudibus Novae Militiae, Saint Bernard writes about the Templars : «There is no social discrimination amongst them: respect goes to the best of them, not the most titled» (IV, 7). They wanted to lived in humility and fraternal equality, sharing citizenship without consideration for the titles of nobility which flattered the pride of the princes of royal blood. The Sons of the Valley are the followers of this Benedictine Strict Observance spirit of humility and equality.

The General Chapter was at the center of the functioning of the Benedctine Strict Observance, and its democratic principles determined the Templar knights organization in Jerusalem. Seven centuries later, this experience could be  revived with a modern institution such as the United Nations established in Jerusalem.

In the tradition of the Benedictine Strict Observance, the vision of the unified space is given to us by Our Lady The Virgin Mary, who offers consolation to the humble people in the valley. The unified space is a geometric method of plan drawing developed by the Cistercians for the construction of their churches dedicated to Our Lady. But it was also much more. The schema of the unified space was like the vision of the Holy Grail, it structured their relationship to the world in a new way – and incidentally enabled building construction. The understanding of this highly symbolic geometric knowledge was the key enabling the crusader knight  on his journey to a New Life to reach the status of “citizen of the sky” , in the monks words .


Dante and his poem; by Domenico di Michelino; Santa Maria del Fiore dome; Florence; Italy


The Florentine poet Dante Aligheri (1265-1321), who took Saint Bernard as a guide in the Paradise of his Divine Comedy, hid the principles of the unified space in his Inferno. Lucifer the “carrier of light” was set by Dante at the central point of this space. After crossing the perilous lands of Hell, the pilgrim reached the mountain of the Purgatory. For the Templar brothers – and this is very noticeable in Wolfram Eschenbach's Parzifal – little mattered whether the pilgrim was a Christian, Jew or Muslim. What really mattered was that he share the same vision of a unified space, so that their differences in religion wouldn't alter their ability to live together. At the top of the Purgatory, the pilgrim receives 'the crown and the mitre' to honour his free will lost with the fall of Adam and finally recovered. The journey from Inferno to Paradise has given him the insight into the unified space and, now a new man, he has earned the right to speak up in the Chapter where are gathered, sitting in a circle, these consoled brothers, the democratic citizens.



by Jean-Pierre SCHMIT

Additional information

la dernière mission du Temple

 

Au petit matin du vendredi 13 octobre 1307, les troupes du roi de France conduites par Guillaume de Nogaret investissent l'enclos du Temple de Paris. Les officiers du roi mettent tous les templiers présents en état d'arrestation. Le même jour, dans toutes les commanderies du royaume de France, la même scène se répète.

 

A Paris, 138 templiers sont arrêtés. Parmi eux, le Grand Maître Jacques de Molay (1292-1314) entouré de quelques hauts dignitaires du Temple. Les templiers n'ont offert aucune résistance, mais Guillaume de Nogaret est déçu: l'enclos du Temple est vide, le trésor des templiers n'est plus à Paris, quant à la majorité des templiers présents, ce ne sont que des sergents ou des gens de métier. Seule une poignée de dignitaires sont présents lors de l'arrestation pour représenter l'ordre. Visiblement les templiers ont été prévenus. Pour Nogaret, il ne fallait pas aller chercher bien loin le responsable de la fuite, ce ne pouvait être que son prédécesseur, l'archevêque de Narbonne, Gilles Aycelin.

 

arrestation des templiers; miniature in: Chroniques de France; XIVème siècle; British Library, Londres

 

Quand le 22 septembre 1307, dans l'abbaye de Maubuissson, le roi de France, Philippe le Bel (1285-1314), avait informé l'archevêque de sa volonté de procéder à l'arrestation de tous les templiers, Gilles Aycelin en tant que Chancelier et Garde des Sceaux s'y était violemment opposé, arguant que la procédure judiciaire était illégale. Mais devant l'obstination du roi, l'archevêque était parti en démissionnant de sa charge.

 

Probablement prévenu au plus vite, dès le 22 septembre, le Grand Maître de l'ordre des Templiers prit ses dispositions. Les caisses contenant le trésor des templiers furent chargées sur une dizaine de chevaux et confiées au nouveau Visiteur Général, Gérard de Villiers, qui escorté de quarante chevaliers en armes, évacua promptement le précieux chargement en lieu sûr.

 

Ce fut à cet instant l'effervescence dans l'enclos du Temple – car les templiers ne connaissaient pas encore le jour exact de l'arrestation qui pouvait survenir à tout moment. Tout le monde chercha à mettre ses affaires à l'abri. Hugues de Pairaud, Maître de la province de France, choisit quant à lui de confier son trésor au templier Pierre Gaudès, Commandeur des maisons de Dormelles et de Biauvoir, près de Moret en Gâtinois. Ce dernier s'enfuit de l'enclos avec un coffre et le remit à un pêcheur de Moret-sur-Loing qui le cacha sous son lit. Une fois les templiers arrêtés, le pêcheur confia le coffre au bailli royal. Ce coffre contenait 1189 pièces d'or et 5010 pièces d'argent qui rejoignirent prestement le trésor du roi de France.

 

Eglise Sainte-Marie du Temple de Paris, lieu de réunion du chapitre de la province de France; gravure d'Israel sylvestre

 

Préférant prendre leurs distances avec le roi de France, les dignitaires du Temple et le Grand Maître des Templiers s'étaient installés à Poitiers auprès de la cour pontificale. Début octobre, Jacques de Molay devait remonter à Paris pour assister aux obsèques de Catherine de Courtenay , épouse de Charles de Valois, frère du roi de France.

 

En remontant vers l'enclos du Temple de Paris, le Grand Maître et les quelques dignitaires qui l'accompagnaient pouvaient légitimement se soucier du sort qui les attendait. Le 12 octobre, on ne put leur arracher ce sentiment qu'en participant aux obsèques de Catherine de Courtenay, c'est à leur propre enterrement qu'ils assistaient. Jacques de Molay, conscient qu'après la chute du royaume de Jérusalem, les temps n'étaient plus favorables à la mission du Temple, voulut jusqu'au bout faire face à son destin et rester fidèle à son engagement. Le 18 mars 1314, il sera brûlé vif à Paris en place publique, le regard tourné vers Notre-Dame.

 

Fait prisonnier, Jacques de Molay n'avait pas cherché à nier ni à contredire les actes d'accusation prononcés par une inquisition au service de la justice royale. On peut penser qu'à Poitiers, le pape Clément V (1305-1314)) avait convaincu le Grand Maître des Templiers de renoncer à la défense de son ordre pour le bien de l'Église. Le pape devait être persuadé que face à l'agressivité dont le roi de France avait déjà fait preuve vis-à-vis du Saint-Siège, il sauverait dans cette affaire l'essentiel. Pour Clément V, l'essentiel c'était l'indépendance de l'Église romaine si chèrement acquise ces derniers siècles sur le droit féodal. C'était aussi le souci de préserver les intérêts des états pontificaux établis dans le royaume de France. On pense notamment au Comtat Venaissin où, après Poitiers, le pape ira se réfugier pour installer durablement la papauté à Avignon.

 

Mais en laissant le roi de France, Philippe le Bel, porter le discrédit sur une institution comme l'ordre des templiers, il entachait gravement la tradition bénédictine, et particulièrement l'univers de la Stricte Observance bénédictine dont les frères templiers étaient issus. Saint Bernard (1090-1153), abbé cistercien du monastère de la Claire Vallée, figure emblématique de la chrétienté et du monachisme de la Stricte Observance bénédictine, avait été, par la grâce des pères du concile réunis à Troyes en 1129, désigné comme le père spirituel des templiers et chargé de superviser leur Règle.

sceau de saint Bernard, abbé de la Claire Vallée

Finalement, sans en mesurer la portée, Clément V faisait faire à la chrétienté un terrible retour en arrière – précisément jusqu'au 6 janvier 754 aux limites des temps barbares quand le pape Étienne II (752-757) s'agenouillait devant Pépin le Bref (715-768), accordant à la dynastie franque un titre impérial et un soutien papal en échange de quelques états pontificaux en Italie.

 

Si en 1304, l'ordre des templiers avait rejeté la demande du roi de France d'entrer dans la milice à une période où Philippe le Bel ne tarissait pas d'éloges à son égard, si en 1306 Jacques de Molay avait refusé la proposition de Clément V d'une fusion de son ordre avec celui des Hospitaliers de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem, c'est que les templiers se considéraient comme les gardiens d'un univers – celui de la Stricte Observance bénédictine qui avait nourri les institutions des premiers états latins de Jérusalem. Pour reprendre une expression du Grand Maître dans son mémoire adressé à Clément V sur la fusion des ordres, l'ordre des templiers s'était toujours considéré comme «l'avant-garde de la chrétienté».

 

Quand les frères templiers comprendront que tout était fini et qu'ils allaient assister de leur vivant à la fin de leur religion, leur première préoccupation fut de préserver l'avenir. Cela passait par la protection de leur trésor, issu de leur engagement en Terre Sainte. Cet acte de conservation n'est pas tant à prendre comme une volonté de soustraire des richesses à la convoitise de puissants personnages toujours en manque de fonds, mais plutôt comme une volonté de réserver un héritage pour les générations futures. A travers leur trésor, les chevaliers du Temple nous donnaient un rendez-vous avec l'histoire.

 

 

La couronne des rois mages

 

En 1372, en un temps où le pape Grégoire XI (1370-1378) cherche à relancer un projet de croisade, un frère carmélite, Jean de Hildesheim, prieur du couvent de Marienau, nous fera quelques révélations à propos du trésor des templiers et plus particulièrement sur une pièce maitresse de ce trésor. Il s'agit d'un diadème en or, orné de pierres précieuses d'une inestimable valeur. Ce diadème est surmonté de lettres chaldéennes et d'une croix. La description qu'en donne le prieur de Marienau ressemble fort au type de couronnes ottoniennes du Saint empire Germanique.

 

Couronne impériale allemande de l'empereur Conrad II,Couronne impériale allemande de l'empereur Conrad II, in: Encyclopédie des Arts,  ed. de l'Illustration, 1960 in: Encyclopédie des Arts,  ed. de l'Illustration, 1960

 

Jean de Hildesheim nous dit aussi que ce sont les nobles princes de 'Vaux' qui amenèrent ce joyau à Saint-Jean d'Acre en 1200. Se comportant comme les rois mages, les nobles de Vaux déposèrent cette couronne en Terre Sainte, où les templiers en eurent la garde. Le prieur carmélite précise que les nobles de Vaux apportèrent aussi des livres sur les rois mages et qu'ils portaient sur leur étendard la croix du Temple et l'étoile des mages.

 

armes de Raymond II de Baux, enseveli en 1236 dans la commanderie templière de Bayle, in: Les Sites templiers de France, éd. Ouest-France, 1997

 

Marianne Elissagaray, qui publia en 1965 l'Historia Trium Regum de Jean de Hildesheim n'eut pas de mal à identifier ces rois mages avec la maison seigneuriale des Baux de Provence.   Les seigneurs des Baux prétendaient descendre du roi mage Balthazar;  leur blason était une étoile à 16 rais d'argent sur fond de gueules en l'honneur de l'étoile des rois mages.  Leur devise était:" A l'azard Bautezar".

 

Blason de la maison des Baux

Quant aux livres que cette maison apporta avec elle, cela nous fait entrer de plein pied dans la tradition des vaticinations – une littérature qui prétend annoncer l'avenir. La plus connue des ces traditions littéraires dans le monde bénédictin du Moyen-Age est celle du millénarisme qui s'attache au récit de la fin des temps qui doit advenir dans la vallée de Josaphat à Jérusalem , lieu où l'on situait la sépulture de la vierge Marie, notre-Dame. Les théories millénaristes ont directement influencé l'esprit des chevaliers de la première croisade. Quand Godefroy de Bouillon (1099-1100)  sera désigné pour diriger les nouveaux états de Terre Sainte, il fondera dans la vallée de Josaphat un monastère en l'honneur de Notre-Dame qu'il confiera aux soins des moines bénédictins. Quand l'ordre des Pauvres Chevaliers du Christ du Temple de Salomon sera crée à Jérusalem en 1119, les templiers deviendront les protecteurs de la vallée de Josaphat.

 

Les récits latins sur la fin des temps s'inspirent principalement d'un texte d'origine syrienne datant de la fin du VIIème siècle et attribué à l'évêque Méthode. Ce récit inspira une nombreuse littérature prophétique dont la plus célèbre au Moyen-Age fut celle du moine bénédictin Adson de Moutier-en-Der écrit aux environs de 954 De Nativitate et Obitu Antichristi. Il y aura aussi L'Oracle de la Sybille Tiburtine, composé en Italie du Sud au milieu du XIème siècle. Tous ces ouvrages racontent à peu près la même histoire: celle de la venue du roi des derniers jours qui fera l'unité de l'occident et se rendra à Jérusalem. Là, sur le Mont des Oliviers, il déposera son sceptre et sa couronne. Rappelons que Godefroy de Bouillon avait refusé de porter la couronne de Jérusalem là où le Christ avait subi son martyr, ceint d'une couronne d'épines. Cette abolition de la royauté devait précéder la venue de l'Antéchrist qui sera vaincu par l'archange Saint Michel et ses légions célestes annonçant le jugement dernier.

 

Dans la tradition bénédictine, c'est au pied du tombeau de Notre-Dame, dans la vallée de Josaphat, que la Vierge Marie intercèdera en faveur de ses fils le jour du Jugement dernier et que l'orgueilleux sera condamné et l'humble consolé. Plusieurs moines de la Stricte Observance bénédictine s'intéresseront de près à ces révélations, notamment le cistercien Otton de Freising (1112-1158) , abbé de Morimond et oncle de l'empereur Frédéric Barberousse, qui s'attachera surtout à démontrer le caractère germanique du Roi des derniers jours. Il y a aussi Joachim de Flore (1130-1202), abbé cistercien du monastère de Corazzo, abbaye fille de la Claire Vallée. Dans son Expositio in Apocalipsim, Joachim situait la fin des temps en 1200. Mais pour l'abbé cistercien la fin des temps n'était que le début d'une nouvelle ère, celle du Saint Esprit, qui était pour lui la réalisation pleine et entière de la Stricte Observance bénédictine à l'échelle universelle.

 

Incontestablement la mystérieuse confrérie des Rois Mages, dont Jean de Hildesheim nous avait révélé l'existence, avait pris très au sérieux les prophéties de l'abbé calabrais. La couronne apportée en Terre sainte devait appartenir au nouvel empereur germanique élu en 1198, Otton IV de Brunswick (1176-1218) – qui le jour de l'épiphanie en 1200 avait fait don de trois couronnes à la cathédrale de Cologne où sont déposées les reliques des rois mages. Otton IV figure sur la châsse en or contenant les rois mages. Il est représenté derrière les trois rois plus petit et sans couronne en signe d'humilité, ses mains sont voilées ,portant offrande, car il est aussi le donateur de l'or et des pierres précieuses qui ornent la châsse.  Otton IV mettait ainsi son couronnement sous la protection de la Vierge Marie et sous la figure du Christ du Jugement dernier, placé dans le registre supérieur.

 

Châsse des Trois Rois Mages, crée vers 1181-1230 par Nicholas de Verdun,Cathédrale de Cologne, photo de Beckstet, sous licence Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike 3.0

 

Otto IV de Brunswick-Poitou, petit-fils d'Aliénor d'Aquitaine et de Henri II Plantagenet, neveu du roi d'Angleterre Richard Coeur de Lion, sera d'ailleurs le fameux héros célébré dans le Parzival du chevalier allemand Wolfram von Eschenbach. Mais l'univers de la Stricte Observance bénédictine reste exigeant et il n'est pas rare en politique que les élus finissent par prendre pour leur bien propre ce dont ils sont seulement dépositaires. Otton de Brunswick décevra vite ses protecteurs, les templiers, et la confrérie des Rois Mages devra se trouver un nouvel élu.

 

En Provence, autour de la cité d'Arles, la tradition des rois mages est encore très vivace et aussi ancienne que celle de Cologne et de Milan – et surtout plus ancienne que celle de Florence, où  au XVème siècle la confrérie des rois mages se réunira dans la chapelle privée des Médicis.

 

la chapelle de la confrérie des Rois Mages; palais des Médicis, Florence; photo JP SCHMIT

 

La confrérie a scruté les cieux bien après la fin des templiers, et les vaticinations ne se sont pas arrêtées.

 

En Provence, le mage le plus célèbre avec ses Centuries fut Michel de Nostredame (1503-1566), dont le nom est composé des deux derniers acteurs du Jugement dernier dans la vallée de Josaphat. Michel de Nostredame est né à Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, au pied de la forteresse des seigneurs des Baux de Provence, dans les Alpilles. Ce n'est peut-être qu'une coïncidence, mais si on pense que les frères templiers ont caché leur trésor dans l'attente du roi des derniers jours qui viendra établir l'état de la Stricte Observance à Jérusalem, les indications de Michel de Nostredame dans ses Centuries sur l'emplacement d'un trésor ont toutes les raisons de retenir notre attention:

«Dessous de chêne Guien, du ciel frappé,

Non loin de là est caché le trésor

Qui par longs siècles avait été grappé.»(I, 27)

On peut croire qu'une fois ce chêne identifié, le héros tant attendu n'aura jamais été aussi près de ceindre la couronne et de réaliser les espérances eschatologiques de nos chevaliers.

 

L'espace unifié

 

Dans son Éloge à la Nouvelle Chevalerie, Saint Bernard nous dit à propos des templiers: « Parmi eux, point d'acception de personnes: c'est le meilleur qu'on respecte, non le plus titré. » (IV,7) Les Fils de la Vallée sont les fils de cette Stricte Observance bénédictine, ces humbles personnes qui souhaitaient vivre dans une fraternelle égalité à la manière des citoyens, loin des titres de noblesses qui flattaient l'orgueil des princes de sang.

 

Le fonctionnement de la Stricte Observance bénédictine était centré sur le Chapitre Général, dont les principes démocratiques fixaient l'organisation des chevaliers du Temple à Jérusalem. Sept siècles plus tard, cette expérience pourrait de nouveau revivre à travers une institution moderne comme celle des Nations Unies établie à Jérusalem.

 

Quant à Notre-Dame, celle qui console les humbles dans la vallée, elle nous offre dans la tradition de la Stricte Observance la vision de l'espace unifié – sorte de schéma géométrique mis au point par les cisterciens dans la construction de leurs églises dédiées à Notre-Dame. Ce schéma était comme la vision du Saint Graal, il structure un nouveau rapport au monde et sert accessoirement à faire des plans pour bâtir des édifices. La compréhension de ce schéma hautement symbolique était la clef pour le chevalier élu qui acceptait d'emprunter la voie de la Vie Nouvelle d'accéder au statut de 'citoyen du ciel', selon l'expression des moines du Moyen-Age.

 

Dante et son poème; de Domenico di Michelino; Dôme de Santa Maria del Fiore; Florence; Italie

 

Le poète florentin Dante Aligheri (1265-1321), qui n'hésitera pas à faire de Saint Bernard son guide au Paradis avait caché les principes de l'espace unifié dans l'Enfer de sa Divine Comédie – faisant de la figure de Lucifer, 'le porteur de lumière', le point central de cet espace. Le pèlerin, après avoir traversé ces contrées périlleuses, rejoignait la montagne du Purgatoire. Pour les frères templiers, et c'est très sensible dans le Parzival de Wolfram von Eschenbach, que ce pèlerin soit juif, chrétien ou musulman, l'essentiel était pour eux qu'il partageât la même vision de l'espace pour que leurs différentes religions n'altèrent pas leur vivre en commun. C'est au sommet du Purgatoire qu'on offrait à ce pèlerin « la couronne et la mitre », honorant ainsi son libre-arbitre perdu depuis la chute d'Adam et enfin recouvré. Ainsi cet homme nouveau aura  enfin voix au chapitre où sont rassemblés, assis en rond, ces frères consolés, les citoyens démocrates.

 

Dante, Divina commedia . Venice, Giovanni Battista, Melchior and Domenico Sessa, 1564, Copyright © 2005 Bibliotheca Philosophica Hermetica

 

par Jean-Pierre SCHMIT

Additional information